I’m daring myself to dare

If ever I had any “MUST WATCH” recommendations – these 3 videos would be near the top of the list.

The first is Brene Brown’s original TED talk:  “The Power of Vulnerability”

Then her second TED talk: “Listening to Shame”

And finally – an interview between Oprah and Brene Brown called “Daring Greatly” – the link is here:

http://www.oprah.com/own-super-soul-sunday/Full-Episode-Oprah-and-Brene-Brown-on-Daring-Greatly-Video

I had watched Brene’s original TED talk last year – and resonated deeply with what she said.  Yesterday, I received an e-mail from Jacqueline – who sent me the link to the discussion between Oprah and Brene.

I got half-way through… and then started getting all weepy (in a good way!).

Brene was putting into words something that I have often struggled to understand or articulate.  She was saying things like this:

Daring greatly is:

  • The courage to be vulnerable.
  • To show up and be seen.
  • To ask for what you need.
  • To talk about how you’re feeling.
  • To have the hard conversations.

And then she says this:  “Most people think vulnerability is weakness – but it’s the cornerstone of confidence.  It’s the birthplace of innovation, creativity and change.  You can’t get to courage without walking through vulnerability”.

WOW-zers!  I especially love that last bit:  “You can’t get to courage without walking through vulnerability” (!!)

vulnerability

As I explained in more detail in my Weekly-E… I have been grappling with this concept of vulnerability – and I have been really worried that sharing my vulnerability on this blog – may be a BAD thing.  I have been worried that people will perceive me as weak… or frail… or incapable… and that, instead, I ought to try to present myself as being strong… “together”… and as some kind of role-model…  I mean, isn’t that what the world wants?  The “strong” people that we can put on a pedestal and “look up” to?

Perhaps I shouldn’t be sharing stories about my fears and failures – and rather wax lyrical about “The Answers” – I mean, isn’t that what most people want?  An “answer”….(?)

Let me tell you – I have a LOT of thoughts on this topic… and if you were sitting in my home right now, I’d love to discuss it over a cup of coffee (and some home-made cupcakes that my daughter is busy baking as I type).

But now – I want to swing it back to you!  What do YOU think about vulnerability and courage?  Do you think that being vulnerable is a good thing – or do you think that, in a sense, you’re shooting yourself in the foot when you’re vulnerable?  Have you had any negative or positive feedback after being vulnerable?  Do you think people respect you for your openness and vulnerability – or do they perceive you as being weak?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!  You can respond in the comments section of this blog… or hop on to the Facebook page and chat there… or drop me an e-mail:  heather@beautifullifeproject.com

I’m really looking forward to hearing your thoughts!  🙂

heather heart

3 responses

  1. Informative Article! Good to see somebody who really knows what they are talking about and can additionally produce common sense blog for us the reader. Certainly looking forward to your next article.

Leave a Reply

